Airbnb Regulations in Miami
Short-term rentals are among the fastest-growing businesses across different States in the U.S., and Florida is no exception. It gives visitors an alternative way of accommodation—cheaper and more convenient than the usual hotel accommodations. With a good Airbnb, you are guaranteed a consistent flow of customers for an exceptional experience.
Unlike most cities, Miami has a unique Airbnb setting, and so do the laws that govern running Airbnb and the entire hospitality industry. If you are considering engaging with this business, there are a few things you need to learn, primarily Airbnb regulations in the city. Remember, all the laws are subject to change from one State/City to the other. Miami Condos that allow Airbnb
How Do You Apply for Airbnb Miami License?
When considering to become an Airbnb host in Miami, it is vital first to understand specific laws governing Airbnb. This gives you a good start when registering short-term rentals in the city. When applying for your Airbnb license, you will need to show proof of the property you intend to set the business.
The City Department of Registration will then issue you with an invoice containing the license’s total cost. Again, you will be briefed on how long it will take before getting legal documents essential for the Airbnb application. Once you get your State Vacation Rental Dwelling License, Business Tax Receipt Number, and Resort Tax Certificate Number, upload them to Airbnb listings to complete your registration. Apply for Your Miami Airbnb License here.
How Much Do You Have to Pay to Get an Airbnb Miami License? What to Know About Airbnb Regulations in Miami?
With several steps involved in the registration of an Airbnb, various fees are involved in the process. First, you will need to get a State Vacation Rental Dwelling License from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR). Here, all applicants must pay a license fee and an additional $50, one-time application processing fee.
You will also pay a $45 application fee for the Business Tax Receipt process, about $60 fire department inspection, and a $69 license fee. Getting a Resort Tax Certificate Number also requires a $25 fee for a resort tax registration application. All these fees are subject to change, primarily due to Airbnb regulation amendments.
Is it Better to Airbnb A House or A Condo?
Choosing between a condo and a house for Airbnb can be a daunting undertaking for first-timers. Both facilities make an excellent deal for Airbnb, and they all have promising returns. However, most short-term tourists and locals prefer working with condos over houses. Besides the topic of cost and location, Miami has strict regulations regarding condo Airbnb. Again, a few condos accept Airbnb.
On the other hand, a house gives a user that homely touch, making it suitable for visitors looking for a mini home experience while away from home. Notably, you will need to do a little more research to identify the right condo model that accepts Airbnb. As an investor, the main focus is to set-up an ideal Airbnb and generate more profits.
Do You Have to Pay Taxes?
When you are in any profession, paying taxes is inevitable. Both the federal and State government are quite keen on ensuring that companies pay their taxes whenever they are due without fail. Thus, Miami Beach City and Florida often assesses tourist taxes on short-term rentals with an accommodation period of six months. Several forms of taxes apply in Miami, including Transient Rental Tax and Discretionary Sales Surtax.
However, if your Airbnb is in its growing stage, you might get lucky and fail to pay your taxes. But this will eventually come back, and you will be required to settle all pending taxes, including fines. It is hence recommended that, if possible, you pay your taxes promptly.
Airbnb party in Miami
What Happens When Someone Throws a Party—Neighborhood Regulations? What to Know About Airbnb Regulations in Miami?
Hiring a short-term rental gives the visitors the freedom to host parties, meetings, and other events they find convenient. But with disruptive parties that violate gathering rules, it becomes a nuisance to neighbors. Airbnb neighborhood regulations prohibit such events in their platforms. Besides, Airbnb bans house parties for all their listings, including Miami.
Remember, you must have relevant permission from the local government for you to host a party. This should verify that your neighbors have agreed to the terms of the party. Contrarily, if your Airbnb has a license, you can quickly mention hosting parties and other events during the registration period.
What is the Fine if You Get Caught Running an Illegal Airbnb? What to Know About Airbnb Regulations in Miami?
Running an illegal Airbnb is a criminal offense in Miami, and it’s punishable by law. If you are caught operating an Airbnb illegally, you will be charged with a criminal violation offense. The Miami Beach City Commission state that first-time offenders will be fined $1,000 a day. Repeated offenders will pay $5,000 per day according to the amended city’s short-term rental laws. It is also illegal to rent your property to a host or visitors for less than 30 days, as it also violates the constitution.